Some Interesting E-mails

It seems that last week’s articles outlining how Cafe Cash isn’t really tax free ruffled a few feathers (as seen here, here, and here). Looks like Winthrop doesn’t want to have anything to do with this little blog. We here at Winthrop Sucks think that is a shame. We realize that the name implies that we don’t like Winthrop, and that makes perfect sense. What doesn’t is some emails that we received last week.


We attempted to leave some comments on a relatively Pro-Winthrop blog only to have them deleted before they saw the light of day. This was the reasoning:

I could not accept your blog because your link is to Winthrop sucks…and my blog was created to promote Winthrop, not cut it down.

Later, we received this from the same person:

I work for Winthrop and blog my experiences with Winthrop. No they don’t tell me what to write, but prospective students have a link to my blog, and I didn’t feel it appropriate to have a comment that linked the students to a blog that is how Winthrop sucks. It is nothing personal, but its my job to recruit students, and I didn’t think that that was the best link to have. That is why I wrote you an e-mail was so that I could acknowledge that you were right and thank you for responding. But again, the link was not in the best intentions of the blog.

I apologize if I offended you, that was not what I was aiming for. Thank you for reading my blog and for responding to my question that I posed.

Here is where it gets a bit tricky. We didn’t find this blog through Winthrop in any way, we found it by using WordPress’ “Random Blog” feature. The link was left with no intention except to identify who wrote the comment.

We think that perspective students should be given the opportunity to receive multiple sides of the Winthrop story. We understand that Winthrop wants future students to see the best that it has to offer, but we feel that by allowing views such as ours Winthrop will be better represented. It just gives you more credibility when you are able to point out things that you don’t do well.

And if you really want to get down to it, this blog didn’t have any comments anyway, so the author should be happy that someone actually wrote something.

Published in: on 12 November 2007 at 10:52 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winthropsucks.wordpress.com/2007/11/12/some-interesting-e-mails/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    I’m Out! 🙂

  2. ti what you know lyrics

    Some Interesting E-mails | Winthrop Sucks


Leave a Reply

