Campus Police Gone Crazy

I’ll admit, we were already on Christmas Break. But after coming into my room and seeing this e-mail, something had to be written.

So today I had to call campus police to jump my car after my battery died. The guy who came to jump my car informed me that my car was not registered with campus police and I could be fined $75 just for driving on campus. I told him that I don’t need to park on campus because I live very close and usually walk to class. He said the registration was not for parking, it was just for driving. I was thinking registering my vehicle meant that I just have to fill out some form until he assured me, “You could do it right now and since the semester’s almost over it should only cost you about $40.”

I told him that was the most ridiculous thing I had ever heard and told him I would not be bringing my car on campus anymore.

What the Hell? Was this guy serious? The only explanation that I can think of is that the guy was confused and read the regulations wrong. It would have been more understandable if he had refused to jump the car because it didn’t belong to someone with a Winthrop parking decal.

Let’s analyze the situation for a moment. If everyone who drove their car on campus was required to register the car first, then no parent would be able to drop their child off in front of the dorm on move in day. No pizza delivery car would be able to deliver pizza. Tony would not be able to have relatives visit. No weddings would be able to take place. In fact, no special events would be able to happen in Byrnes, Barnes, or Tillman either because I doubt very much that members of the Rock Hill community will register their car with Winthrop University simply to be able to drive on campus.

We will be contacting campus police to see what they have to say.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winthropsucks.wordpress.com/2007/12/11/campus-police-gone-crazy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How do you get to be a part of campus police and get that confused?

  2. […] officer) and Mr. Frank Zebedis (chief of Winthrop Police) to see if they had something to say about this post. Only Chief Zebedis wrote back to us, but there is no way to tell if the two spoke and decided to […]

  3. A. Person, that’s something I’m still trying to figure out. You would think that someone with such a public job would get checked on reading comprehension or something like that.


Leave a comment